January 12, 2011

Trinity Protestant Reformed Church

Classis East met in regular session on Wednesday, January 12, 2011 at the Trinity PRC, Hudsonville, MI. All churches were represented by two delegates. Rev. A. denHartog served as the chair of this session.

The business of classis was routine for a January session. Classis spent most of its time voting. The following were chosen as delegates to Synod 2011: Ministers: Primi: G. Eriks, C. Haak, K. Koole, J. Slopsema, R. VanOverloop; Secundi: A. denHartog, M. DeVries, W. Langerak, A. Lanning, A. Spriensma. Elders: Primi: Tom DeVries (Hope), Gary Kaptein, Dave Ondersma, Ted Pipe, John VanBaren (Hope); Secundi: Gary Boverhof, Jon Engelsma, H. Jay Kuiper, Ed Ophoff, Jr., Ken Vink.

In other elections: Rev. R. VanOverloop was elected to a three-year term as a primusdelegate ad examina; Rev. C. Haak was elected to a one-year term as a primusdelegate ad examina; Rev. A. denHartog was chosen to serve a three-year term as asecundus delegate ad examina. Rev. A. Lanning was chosen to serve a threeyear term on the Classical Committee. Revs. K. Koole and R. VanOverloop were elected to serve as church visitors, with Revs. A. denHartog and C. Haak as alternate church visitors. J. Huisken was appointed to serve another three-year term as Stated Clerk; Rev. M. DeVries was elected to a three-year term as the Assistant Stated Clerk.

Classical appointments were given to Cornerstone, Trinity, and Wingham. Subsidy requests were approved for Cornerstone ($53,782 with a pastor, no subsidy without a pastor), Kalamazoo ($33,000), and Wingham ($38,000 with a pastor, $10,000 without a pastor).

The expenses of classis amounted to $185.57. Classis will meet next on May 11, 2011 at the Southwest PRC.

Respectfully submitted,

Jon J. Huisken, Stated Clerk